The Cub Scout program was officially launched nationally in 1930. It is affiliated with Boy Scouts of America.

The first charter for Pack 170 was granted to Pender in January 1953.  The first Cubmaster was Mr. C.E. Peterson followed by Lester Oberg and Don Darling.

The Pack was divided into groups of five or six, each supervised by a den mother.

The Cub Scout Promise is: I promise to do my best, to do my duty to God and my country, to help other people and to obey the Law of the Pack.

The Law of the Pack is:  The Cub Scout follows Akela, the Cub Scout helps the Pack go, the Pack helps the Cub Scout grow, the Cub Scout gives goodwill.

The Cub Scout motto is: Do your best.

There was a lapse in the Charter for the Cub Scout Pack, but it was re-chartered in 1980.  Since the Pack has become active again, it has had many youth and adults help keep it going. Charter Partners for Pack 170 include The American Legion 1980-2000, and St. John the Baptist Knights of Columbus 2000-Present. 

Cubmasters since the Pack has been re-chartered include:  Mr. and Mrs. Gary Hermanson 1980-1982, Verne Tyrrell 1982-1991, Roger Leonard 1991-1996, Paul Christiansen 1996-97, Shawn Messerlie 2006-2009 and Sonya Peatrowsky 1997-2006 and 2009-Present. Den Leaders include:  Sonya Peatrowsky 1996-1997, Paul Christiansen 1997-2006 and 2009-Present, Charlene Dunn 1997-2000, and Colleen Essmann 2001-2006. Other Den Leaders include Lyle Beckman, Carla Urbanec, Ben Whitfield, John Smith, Michael Coss, Kevin Fendrick, Steve Goodman, Janet Schopke and Pastor Dan Springer.  There were other adults who have helped make Pack 170 successful over the years whose names were unintentionally unmentioned.